Where do those light bulb moments come from??

I really liked the way the pieces curved after they were sewn into strips, but couldn’t see how I could keep them that way.

So here they are sewn together with a simple backstitch, as that seemed to work best.  Put it aside as I really wasn’t all that happy with the result and looked at it daily.  The ‘rules’ kept coming back to haunt me – edges not straight, size of patches irregular, corners do not meet, and why would I put the colours like that…..and so on and so on.  This didn’t help matters when well meaning friends confirmed those thoughts.

A week later, this exactly what I am aiming for, movement, colour changes that sit fine with me, irregular lines and edges so…

more little soft pieces, with quite a few more to do yet.  Oh, the ‘light bulb’ moment – I was chatting to my 2nd son (who had dropped in for lunch), about mutton birds and their flight from Phillip Island where they nest, to Russia and then back again.  Apparently  when these amazing birds need to rest, they float on the ocean, and suddenly I knew how this piece was going to evolve and that it will require dyeing and spinning more wool.  Resolution can come from anywhere, however, it is open to change.

This is an Australian native plant, ‘Kangaroo paw’ that is just coming into flower now.  Have a number of these in glorious colours, vibrant reds, oranges, yellows and amazing green/red combinations.  They are perfect for our climate and easy to grow. This one is still in bud.

Paws beginning to flower.

Open flower.

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Where do those light bulb moments come from??

  1. I am apparently your first today–Hooray for the light bulb moments, and the Paw Paw plant with paws becoming exquisite flowers, and soft folds resolving themselves into puffs of perfect colors, but most of all–Hooray for floating when it’s rest that’s needed.

    • Ingrid says:

      Definitely need more light bulb moments and my dear Sophie sat in the middle of one of these lovely plants demanding her ball be thrown. C’est la vie!!

  2. well I’m looking forward to whatever the lightbulb illuminated!!

  3. ...iph... says:

    I adore the kangaroo paw… how cheering. And speaking of cheering, I’m cheering for your light bulb moment! This seems quite in sync with a passage of Eckhart Tolle’s read just a few hours ago:

    “There are cycles of success, when things come to you and thrive, and cycles of failure, when they wither and disintegrate and you have to let them go in order to make room for new things to arise, or for transformation to happen. If you cling and resist at that point, it means you are refusing to go with the flow of life, and you will suffer.”

    • Ingrid says:

      Rather uncanny, how you manage to find the perfect quote to keep me going. Extraordinary, but so much appreciated and exactly what I need. Thanks. Maybe I need to visit your library! Ha!

  4. velma says:

    beautiful knitted squares, just lovely

  5. colorsmith says:

    I have been enjoying your progress through this piece. I really love the gentle energy that come through the photos. It actually inspires me because I am finding this obsession to crochet flowers and circle shapes with soft yarns in the green, blue and violet side of the color spectrum. Not sure where it is going but the light bulb keeps flickering…. thank you for sharing the journey with your work. Wish I could be your neighbor watch you dye the fibers.
    Cami
    http://colorsmith.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

