There is more to life than ‘dust’!

Love the changing colours of this ‘pieris’ plant.

Feeling overwhelmed with too much to do and not enough hours in the day, I came across an old quote  in one of my notebooks:

“You know, I embroider my blouses with two heads.
During the night, one of my heads dreams
of designs, drawings, colors, and stitches
and during the day my other head thinks
of all the other things that a woman does:
watering the animals, cooking, making tortillas,
and besides all that, embroidering the blouse
that I was dreaming of.
One head is for me
and the other is for my people.”

Nahua woman, Manuela
El Tectil Mexicano, Linea y Color

Later, when I was out doing some errands, this caught my eye:
“A Perfectly Kept House is the Sign of a Misspent Life” by Mary Randolph Carter

  I relaxed and laughed all the way home. The dust will still be there tomorrow!

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to There is more to life than ‘dust’!

  1. Angie Willis says:

    You’ve made my day! I have an obsession with having to get all the cleaning done and all the ‘things that a woman does’ before I can let myself dream and create. I think I have it the wrong way round and should probably go on a course entitled “You CAN’T Have Everything” 🙂

    • Ingrid says:

      Actually, I think it should be a course in “You can’t DO everything”. A friend told me once “life is not a rehearsal, you only get one chance” – who knows if she is right or not, but I remember her words often. Comments I add to your blogs do not seem to appear, so I must be posting them incorrectly. Sewing machines and technology, life is full of challenges and learning. Seems to me you are mastering them all. Keep at it.

  2. Nancy says:

    This is a wonderful quote. Thanks for sharing!

  3. ...iph... says:

    I love this! I missed this when you first posted it, but the headline just caught my eye, and I must say–YES! Absolutely. We’re on the same wavelength right now. There’s something about the change of the season, I think, that has me wanting to do everything, get the whole house organized and clean (no mean feat with two small ones running along in my wake wrecking everything behind me) and ready for the winter. I keep trying to stop myself in my tracks and be okay with the imperfect state of things, and make sure I’m spending the lion’s share of my time on the things that truly matter.

    I adore the passage you’re quoting here–wonderful!

Leave a Reply

