Signs of Spring

Found one of my daffodils on the ground with its petals somewhat chewed.  A small creature needing to taste.  A ragged edge. I can see soft folds in fabric here.

A sample using solar dyed handspun yarn. To spin and weave from’  within’ without too much planning other than a colourway or selection of fibres, can often surprise and delight. This is the beginning of something larger – a cloth, maybe even a quilt.

Thank you Jude and all that followed to visit me from her blog.  I am overwhelmed this morning and feel privileged that you took the time to visit and leave so  many encouraging comments.  I have a lot to learn and will no doubt make mistakes along the way – the language of technology often defeats me!  Need to work on my feather today and the sun is out – hooray! Oh dear, that means there will be loads of laundry too!

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Signs of Spring

  1. jacky says:

    I’ve so enjoyed reading through your blog….your natural dyeing experiments, your spinning and weaving (I would love to learn to spin).
    I love those photos of the fabrics steeping in the pots. I was wondering, do you boil them up on the stove first and then leave them outside….or just leave them out in the water and leaves etc. and see what comes out?
    Have fun stitching your feather.

    Jacky xox

    • Ingrid says:

      Thank you jacky. I do both – depends on what results I am looking for. Generally, wool needs heat to take up the dye, especially with eucalyptus leaves. Still experimenting – the pots in the blog were left outside for a few weeks, contents being mostly fabric. It is great fun. India Flint is a master in this field, see sidebar.

  2. nadia says:

    I’ve enjoyed reading your blog. I’ve gotta try the eucalyptus leaves for dying, we’ve got some down the street. I used to spin and loved it, but living in Tunisia doesn’t require a lot of woolens. As they say in French, “bonne continuation”!
    best, nadia

    • Ingrid says:

      Cotton and silk can also be handspun. Good luck with the eucalptus leaves, they do take a bit of cooking to get the colour and all species seem to be a little different, some better than others.

  3. Visiting your lovely blog was a pleasure. i am envious that you have outdoors-I don’t have any options there, being three flights up in an apartment, and sun drying is also not an option. But I can experiment indoors now and then with small amounts, and I have plenty of poke going to berry now. I’ve just joined the stitchers, and Jude’s feather project. I have my first threads and needles, along with some material and a threader (all in a lovely hand=done purse) from Deanna, and I have begun my feather story. I’m a retiree, writer, sometimes poet, gardener and visual artist. This is new to me and exciting. Onward. So far you’re doing swell!

    • Ingrid says:

      Am very aware how lucky I am, especially as I need ‘green’ and fresh air daily to feel alive. I have no doubt that your stitching will be wonderful, such an inspiring project of Jude’s.

  4. Pat Thornhill says:

    You have the first signs of spring while we are seeing the first gold of autumn. Welcome to the wonderful world of blogging.

    • Ingrid says:

      Thank you Pat. Always have to remind myself that the opposite is taking place in the other half of the world. Blogs are a terrific way of connecting to the everchanging world.

  5. Debi Minter says:

    I never thought of weaving the yarns I have into something! That would be a great way of using up the yarns I have. I’m going to ponder that thought. I kind of squinted my eyes at the daffodil and could definitely “see” something done in cloth! Have fun stitching your feather!

    😉 Debi

    • Ingrid says:

      Weaving does use a lot of yarn. The chewed wavy edge of the daffodil was what I was seeing as folds, waves, ripples within a cloth or on its edge, softly undulating, cascading in folds. Just a thought.

  6. ...iph... says:

    Your work is gorgeous! I’m a million miles from having the bravery to card or dye wool myself (I’m a brand-new knitter gamely trying to complete my first baby sweater of patched-together garter-stitch squares!), but your photos of natural dyeing are hugely inspiring. :o) (I came here through Spirit Cloth as well. I just started a blog myself. …It feels a bit naked starting out, doesn’t it?)

    • Ingrid says:

      Yes. I am feeling my way nervously, treading carefully, hoping not to offend, but to inspire and keep a record visually. What was private, is suddenly exposed to anyone that cares to drop by – a daunting prospect! Good on you for learning to knit, anything completed by hand is good for the soul and unique. Spinning your own wool is the inevitable next step. Will pop over and see your blog.

  7. ...iph... says:

    Ignore the link my first comment will bring you to (…still working out kinks!). You can get to mine here: http://thefrabjousversipel.wordpress.com/ I’m right there with you. I’ve been a keeper of journals all my life, but bringing that to a non-private space… eeep. I’ve been so inspired and amazed at the community of online artists, the past few years that I’ve been following blogs. There are so many fascinating, talented people out there doing incredible things!

Leave a Reply

