Woolly Batts

Handcarded batts from a Polworth/English Leicester locally grown fleece.  Dyed this wool with two pots of differing eucalyptus leaves, getting one a lovely soft honey colour and the other darker apricot.  Then carded the fibre randomly with a touch of unbleached tussah silk for lustre.

This is what it looks like so far.  Spinning a fine thread with considerable twist.  More to do.

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Woolly Batts

  1. jude says:

    oh. i found you! welcome to blogville…

  2. wovenform says:

    Thank you. It is taking me out of my shell, I am very excited – there is so much to explore, learn and do.

  3. deb g says:

    What beautiful pictures and projects you have! Welcome to blogging (came to visit via Jude).

  4. velma says:

    welcome to blogging! this is a practice worth undertaking. and look at your lovely spinning!

  5. els says:

    Well, you will learn along the way …..
    Have fun and a nice weekend

  6. Hello
    Jude told me you are in the blogasphere. I’m looking forward to more of this misty, wooly wonderful you have offered here.

  7. libbyQ says:

    this looks absolutely devine~!!~

    🙂
    libbyQ

  8. Lisa McGehee says:

    Beautiful fiber. Looking forward to following your journey here in blogville.

  9. Suzanna says:

    Hello! I love the look of those woolly batts! Nice warm color…

  10. Sally jo says:

    wonderful color, honey and apricot – delicious.

  11. lyn lewis says:

    That yarn looks beautiful, what will you do with it? I imagine spinning to be very calming but must not get into that too. I will never live long enough as it is to use all my craft gear up…….tho naturally will I try my very hardest to do so! lol
    Good luck with the blog and hope you enjoy the process as much as I have over the last 2 years
    Lyn in Uk :).

    • Ingrid says:

      An addiction to fibre, means that sometimes I spin a yarn just to see how it will look and feel. Needless to say, there are cupboards full of fibre and yarn in my home. I do sell yarn, and sometimes pieces I have made. Have no plans for this one yet. I will need to live a very long time too!

  12. sandra says:

    welcome to blogland, Linda! I’ve never see eucalyptus flowers, so thanks for showing. You’ve got lovely colous here. I can still remember when i started blogging, it was quite a step. I wish you happiness in blogland.

    Sandra (the Netherlands)

  13. linda says:

    oh i am so excited. i live in seattle and i have a friend in melbourne… so now another. welcome to the hood. i too am a weaver, knitter and now do magic cloth. it is a struggle to let it go and just do what you feel, but i am getting there. really want to try the eco dyeing.. might give it a go today.
    just to find the right pot.

    • Ingrid says:

      Any pot large or small will do the job, as long as it is not reactive and even then unusual and interesting results happen. Size will determine how much plant and fibre material you can put in to it. Just have fun.

  14. Nancy says:

    Oooo this looks so soft and touchable! So glad you’ve started your blog! Welcome!

  15. grace Forrest~Maestas says:

    hi Ingrid!…this is grace for over at Jude’s blog.. getting out of one’s shell is an EVENT!

  16. Vicky Davis says:

    i am amazed every time i see natural dyed items. every time! apricot color from eucalyptus leaves? !!! i still can’t get over the soft pink avocado skins make. your spun yarn looks fantastic.

  17. Debi Minter says:

    Welcome to the blog-o-sphere! I love the yarn you made, especially the colors. They are soft and beautiful and makes me yearn to get my knitting needles out again. It’s just too hard on my arthritic hands now-a-days. I save my non to less pain days to hand stitch. It’s not quite so hard for me to do, especially for short stints of time. I enjoyed looking at your past posts and look forward to MORE.

    😉 Debi

  18. Hi Ingrid,
    good luck from the foggy fells of Cumbria. Lots of living and running wool around here… they call it sheep here!
    Good luck with your blog! Eva

    • Ingrid says:

      A dream of mine is to have a plot of land with sheep, alpacas, angora goats etc. anything that grows fibre. Three fluffy bunnies will have to do for now.

  19. Joei says:

    Hi. …. I found you from Jude’s blog. I’m a felter….who just bought a spinning wheel. I do a fair amount of dyeing, too. What kind of wheel do you have? Your dyeing pots look wonderful and I love the soft honey of your eucalyptus. Welcome to blogville….although I haven’t blogged since April I think I’m ready to return.

  20. Ingrid says:

    The wheel in the photograph is a Majacraft Little Gem from New Zealand, is very portable and will spin fine and bulky yarns and all fibres. If I have a complaint it is minor – being a small wheel, if you spin a lot, it is hard work on the knees and hips long term. Which wheel did you purchase, there are so many available in the US? Oh, I just checked your blog to see where you are and I have a miniature poodle the same colouring as yours. Your supervisor looks like a standard?

  21. Joei says:

    I got a schacht matchless. I’ve been saving for over a year. I’ve wanted one for a gazillion years… My supervisor is a standard….and I have a second, he’s only 5 months…not quite supervisor material yet. My dad raised miniatures, and I love them. Can you recommend any good books about spinning? It’s been a while since I used a drop spindle and I’m thinking I’ll be practicing a lot. Ha

    • Ingrid says:

      Excellent. I believe these are superb wheels. There is an amazing amount of material available for spinners today, almost all of it from the US. I am a visual person first, so like pics – try “Spin Control” by Amy King Interweave Press Publication, “The Intentional Spinner” by Judith MacKenzie McCuin, is more technical and provides lots of information about various fibres as well as techniques. Even “Teach Yourself Visually Handspinning” by the same author, but simpler is pretty good. Also, “Spin Off” magazine is fantastic, and has a useful website and don’t forget to Google the youtubes and instructional sites are numerous and very helpful. Need to warn you, this is a very addictive hobby and time can be spent playing endlessly with fibre, dyes, techniques, etc. Sophie, sits at my feet sometimes with ball in her mouth and paw on the treadle in protest!!! Adore poodles! Happy to help anytime. Enjoy.

  22. Gilli says:

    Congratulation on opening your blog! Followed Jude’s link and here you are! Beautiful honey and apricot colored yarn. Looks positively yummy.

Leave a Reply

